Kyla’s Love (or lack thereof) Story: Part I

It was recently brought to my attention that I needed to get back on the blog train and write another post. Yes, it may have been a few days since my last spurt of writing, but I’ve been a tad busy.

I usually dedicate my posts to random thoughts that I have throughout the day; however this one is going to focus on something a little different.

I’ve mentioned in the past that I’m not much of a soul searcher. And I’m not. But thanks to a few life changes, several good friends, and numerous bottles of wine, I have come down to several conclusions about a part of life that many people would consider to be quite important. Love.

Every week until Valentine’s Day I will be writing a post that has to do with the dreaded “L-Word”. This 7-part series will highlight my thoughts on the subject, as well as any events that may occur between now and February 14.

 

I would also like to add that I’m totally not against love. I have several friends who are blissfully happy and I wish them all the best.

On that note, I also have a handful of friends who have been screwed over. And it can get to be a headache. And it’s depressing. And a low-blow to the self-esteem. And just makes every single song and movie ten-times more heart-wrenching. And if you’re me, you curse entirely too much. Like a very un-ladylike amount. And get a beer gut.

Like most of the people in this world, I’ve been on both sides of the fence.

Currently, I like to think that I am right in the middle of these two places.

For once in my life I am absolutely and completely content with being a loner. Seriously, these are some of the best days I’ve had. Ever. My focus has gravitated towards bettering myself, making new friends and spending time with people who I know will still be there in 10 years. And it all makes me really, really happy.

When the day comes and I turn 28 (that’s my cut off-year for being single), I suppose I’ll be ready to take that step into the serious dating world. I figure that will give me enough time to fall madly in love, get proposed to on my 29th birthday, have a quick 7 month engagement (I hear it takes a while for the wedding dress to come in the mail), and give birth to a set of boy/girl twins at the ripe age 30.

[So boys, if you’re looking for a wife that can cook and stays up-to-date on laundry, give me a call in about 6 years.]

There is one slight exception to this rule….If you are a NFL kicker or play MLB, we can go ahead and get hitched on the spot. Like now.

But until then, I will just be going on with my life and living out my current motto:

YOU’VE GOT TO BE HAPPY WITH YOURSELF.

I know this is like playing a broken record, but it really is true.

Until the day comes that you can be happy with yourself and each and every flaw you may think you have, you should just hold off. Take the foot off the gas pedal and just coast.

Because if you aren’t happy with your own self, there’s no way you can be happy with someone else.

This stuff may be complete crap, but it has been working out pretty well for me. And considering my own personal love stories, I should probably be the very last person to even think about telling anybody how to live their love life. But at the same time, I could be absolutely correct.

Who else are you going to take advice from? The quote section of Pinterest?

(I will go ahead and admit that I do the above all the time.)

So, to wrap up this little mess of randomness, I will just say that everybody should just be happy with wherever their life is right now. Whether you are absolutely infatuated with somebody, or just got kicked to the curb. Just be happy. Because you are exactly where you are supposed to be.

And lastly, if you are not happy, I also have some advice for you:

Do whatever the hell it is that you need to do to get to your happy place!

That is all.

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Kyla’s Love (or lack thereof) Story: Part I

  1. Kyla, you are a very talented young lady. Credit must go to your parents as I do know you dad better than I do your mom but I know she is a very kind and loving person.

Leave a Reply

